The Wallace Collection

The Wallace Collection, A Family Collection, A National Museum, An International Treasure House
Snuff box
  • Snuff box
  • Georges-Antoine Croze (active between: 1777-1790)
  • Paris, France
  • 1778 - 1779
    1776 - 1778 (plaques)
  • Gold, enamel and chalcedony
  • Object size: 3.9 x 8 x 5.8 cm
    Weight: 263 g
  • Maker's mark: 'G / C'
    Maker's mark: 'GA / C'
    Warden's mark: Crowned 'P' for 1778-9
    Warranty mark: Two eagle's head
    Charge mark: For fermier Jean-Baptiste Fouache (1775-81)
    Signature: 'CLACHANT˙LE JEUNE / 1776'
    Inscription: 'Du Petit Dunquerque' Engraved
  • G58
  • Boudoir Cabinet
Commentary
History
Images & Media
Further Reading
  • By the date this box was made, borders with opaque and translucent enamelled fruit and flowers had become something of a convention in Paris and were it not for the mark of the goldsmith, George-Antoine Croze, the box could have been made by almost any other Parisian goldsmith of the period. Unusual, however, are the six oval chalcedony cameo plaques which decorate the box, signed and dated (1776 (lid), 1778 and 1779 (base and sides)) by the gem-engraver, Jean-Baptiste-Nicolas Glachant. This would appear to be a unique use of his cameos being used to decorate a gold snuffbox.
    The form and the decoration of the box may have been dictated by the marchand mercier, C. R. Granchez, who sold it in his shop, Le Petit Dunkerque. The shop name is engraved on the bezel of the box. This was one of the most famous and fashionable shops in Paris. Granchez had originally opened a shop, ‘un grand magasin Anglais’ in Dunkirk at the sign of the Perle d’Orient, but he opened another in Paris in 1767, where he advertised ‘bijouterie et quincaillerie anglaise’. His shop sign, depicting the port of Dunkirk, was painted by Joseph Vernet.